

NOMINATING COMMITTEE REPORT | July 1, 2024

The elected officers of MERCAZ USA shall consist of a President, four (4) Vice Presidents, a Treasurer and a Secretary. All officers shall be elected directly by the General Council in accordance with the procedure provided in Article VI. Each officer shall be elected for a term that expires on the date of the next succeeding General Council called for the purpose of elections or until a successor is chosen and qualified

President

Rabbi Hillel Skolnik, Columbus, OH

Vice Presidents Rabbi Eytan Hammerman, White Plains, NY Rabbi Nolan Lebovitz, Encino, CA Naomi Yadin-Mendick, Sandy Spring, MD Rachel Russo, Highland Park, IL

Secretary Rabbi Eric Leiderman, Chicago, IL

Treasurer Yuval Brokman, South Orange, NJ

Ex-Officio Vice Presidents

Alan Budman (FJMC) Rabbi Jay Kornsgold (RA) Julia Loeb (WLCJ) Andy Schaer (USCJ)

The Executive Committee of MERCAZ USA shall consist of not less than twenty (20) members, including its officers and two immediate past presidents and such balance remaining thereof elected from among its Board of Directors; however, at least six (6) persons shall be appointed to the Executive Committee by the President (with the Board of Directors approval)

Past President Members of the Executive Committee

Richard Helfand, Overland Park, KS Marilyn Wind, Bethesda, MD

The President shall appoint 6 additional members of the Executive Committee. Recommendations for appointment will be communicated to the new President.



NOMINATING COMMITTEE REPORT | July 1, 2024

The business and affairs of MERCAZ USA between General Councils shall be controlled and managed by a Board of Directors consisting of an aggregate of not less than fifty (50) nor more than one hundred eighty (180) members-atlarge, in addition to its seven (7) elected officers, all of whom shall have the power to vote. The Board of Directors shall have the power to: set policy consistent with these By-laws, adopt budgets and fix a fiscal year, set dues, provide rules and regulations for this organization, and generally to provide for the welfare, conduct, continuity and financial strength of this organization.

Board Members at Large:

Ira Bartfield, Arlington, VA Heddy Belman, Pine Brook, NJ Julian Brook, Birmingham, AL Rabbi Elliot Dorff, Beverly Hills. CA Rabbi Daniel Dorsch, Marietta, GA Rabbi Jerome Epstein, Boca Raton, FL Rabbi Murray Ezring, Casselbery, FL Lindsay Goldman, Stony Point, NY Diane Halivni, Deerfield, IL Harvey Hershkowitz, Montville, NJ Scott Kaplan, Atlanta, GA Bernard King-Smith, Lake Kantrine, NY Noa Kligfeld, Los Angeles, CA Rabbi Randall Konigsburg, Manchester, CT Rabbi Noam Kornsgold, Los Angeles, CA Rabbi Harold Kravitz, Hopkins, MN Franklin Kreutzer, Miami, FL Cantor Sarah Levine, Westin, FL Margie Miller, Rockville Centre, NY

Richard Moline, Chicago, IL Dr. David Reifler, Austin, TX Barbara Rosenau, Fort Washington, PA Gary Rosenthal, Sommerset, NJ Jackie Saltz, Oxnard, CA Ben Sigal, Fairfax, VA Alan Silberman, Wilmette, IL Rabbi Alan Silverstein, West Caldwell, NJ Richard Skolnik, Bellmore, NY Sandy Starkman, Highland Park, IL Thomas Sudow, Shaker Heights, OH Rabbi Gordon Tucker, White Plains, NY Michael Waterman, Encino, CA Rabbi Jeremy Weiderhorn, West Port, CT Eric Weis, Wayne, NJ Martin Werber, Great Neck, NY Florence Wolpoff, Bronx, NY Judy Yudof, Juniper, FL

Ex-Officio Board Members:

Rabbi Bradley Artson (Ziegler School of Rabbinic Studies) Rabbi Jacob Blumenthal (RA/USCJ) Amy Skopp Cooper (National Ramah Commission) Cantor Joanna Dulkin (Cantors Assembly) Arnie Podgorsky (Masorti Foundation) Rabbi Noam Raucher (FJMC) Margo Gold (Masorti Olami) Saul Sanders (Schechter Institutes) Dr. Shuly Schwartz, Chancellor (JTS) Rabbi Ellen Wolintz-Fields (WLCJ)



NOMINATING COMMITTEE REPORT | July 1, 2024

Under the bylaws, additional nominations may be made only by written petition in the following manner:

- 1. Nominations for officers shall be by written petition signed by a least fifty (50) members in good standing, of which not less than ten (10) members must reside in each of not less than five (5) different geographic areas, designated in the AMENDED and RESTATED BY–LAWS of MERCAZ USA (December 2017).
- All nominations by petition shall be submitted to the Nominating Committee via Tom Sudow, Chair, tsudow@fjmc.org, <u>3665 Tolland Road, Shaker Heights, Ohio 44122</u> no later than forty-five (45) days prior to the convening of the General Council called for the purpose of elections. The person being nominated by petition must include a signed declaration and consent in writing to allow for their name to be placed in nominations and it must be attached to the petitions at the time of submission.

The Nominating Report is herewith submitted by the Nominating Committee as appointed by the President of Mercaz USA in accordance with Bi-Laws of the Organization

Tom Sudow, Chair (Past President, FJMC)	Cleveland, OH
Rabbi Debra Neuman Kamin (Past President, Rabbinical Assembly)	Chicago, IL
Rabbi Jay Kornsgold (President, Rabbinical Assembly)	East Windsor, NJ
Rabbi Eric Leiderman (Masorti on Campus/MERCAZ USA)	Chicago, IL
Naomi Yadin-Mendick (MERCAZ USA)	Sandy Spring, MD
Margie Miller (Past President, WLCJ)	Rockville Center, NY
Rachel Russo (MERCAZ USA)	Chicago, IL
Andrew Schaer (President, United Synagogue of Conservative Judaism)	Pittsburgh, PA
Rabbi David Wise (Rabbinical Assembly)	Queens, NY

The Nominating Committee shall consist of at least nine (9) persons residing in at least five (5) different geographic areas (as defined in Article V, §5). At least three (3) members of the Nominating Committee shall not be members of the Board of Directors. The President of the United Synagogue of Conservative Judaism shall be an ex-officio member of the Nominating Committee. A list of nominees to be proposed by the Nominating Committee as officers shall be sent to all MERCAZ USA members in good standing at least sixty (60) days prior to the convening of such General Council called for the purpose of elections.